The Right Saw for the Job

Choose your tools wisely for the job. For a plumber, the sawz-all is king because demo can be fast and messy. Not so much for dovetailing. That requires a different touch.

I have many tools at hand. Which one I grab depends upon many factors. When I cut dovetails, how picky do I want to be? How do I want the joints to look? How much noise and dust can I stand that day? And for me most of all, how late is the project? I have many options to use from my Japanese dozuki to my Lie-Nielsen back saw to the router. I put away the sawz-all for dovetails.

All my tools are used by hand and with a watchful eye but the results will vary as will my sense of satisfaction. I have many router cut dovetail boxes around the Studio. They’re nice. They took a modicum of skill which I possess. I have a few hand cut dovetail pieces round my house. Those I look on with a different sense of pride. Not a better sense, different.

We do this work as much for ourselves as for the customer. Pick the right saw for the job.

Rip saw teeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Right Saw for the Job

  1. Mark Sutton says:

    No doubt about it. Every project that fills my home tests a new skill or technique. Every time I look at them I gauge my progress. I’ve learned patience thru detail. The joy of a tight joint or a clean line.

    Like

Leave a Reply

