The weather

What can you do about it? This weather has its own way of being, it’s own way of acting. Asking it to change would be like asking you to stop being who you are. We respond the way we respond. We take on our challenges the way we take them on.

The best we can hope for I think is to understand our methods and prepare for them. Case in point. Anyone who has worked around me when I am at the bench knows that I am, shall we say, a loud woodworker. There is always some tool or piece of wood to talk to, cajol, or simply swear at. It is as if I think things will go better if I am loud.

So when something really does go off the tracks, I know that the best thing for me to do is to walk away from my bench. Give the problem time to shrink to its real size. I walk outside or even around the block if I need. Then when I return, the winds have calmed some, and I can see more clearly what needs to be done.

image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

