Inlaid

I had a neighbor who built furniture. He made a piece with this great set of doors filled with lines and ribbons of color. I asked him how did you make all this inlay? He said, Oh that’s not inlay, it’s paint. Oh, I replied.

Don’t get me wrong, paint is wonderful. But if you make furniture and you get a chance to put in some inlay, don’t hesitate. Take the plunge, learn to cut inlay and ground. It’s more fun that laying down ribbons of masking tape, I can tell you that.

SAB Detail Inlay

 

Inlay Secrets lecture Wednesday, March 2, 6-8pm. Join us. No paint.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inlaid

  1. Jim B says:

    So is the photo paint or inlay? Both can look great.

    Like

  2. nwwstudio says:

    No paint. That’s my inlay. From that day forward I only used wood for inlay and usually left it raised so you could feel that it wasn’t paint. I happen to be a woodworker and sometimes I use paint, but not to fool the eye. I use inlay for that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

