Woodworking Paths

The world is a parlous place. That means it’s scary as hell out there some times. People see their jobs disappear to a cheap replacement or fall victim to the banner of progress. In other words, they’ve been replaced digitally or in-house to supposed experts, or to someone just plain cheaper to pay.

Fear not. Become a woodworker. If you can work with your hands, I guarantee that you will have work. It may not always be the work you want. It may not fill your sails with the winds of prosperity. But you’ll be doing honest work with tools. Work that will tire you out and give you a sense of accomplishment. Work that will always pay. Just forget about buying that fancy new car.

Oops, did I just delete that last sentence. Cain’t do that as a woodworker. No deleting allowed. Mistakes will be made of course, but you will get to see the fruits of your labors every day. Hard to put a price tag on that kind of satisfaction.

Excuse me, I have to go build something for myself.

 

Sawhorses

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Woodworking Paths

  1. Robert Flowers says:

    {If you can work with your hands, I guarantee that you will have work. It may not always be the work you want.}
    This reminds me of one of the most important things my daddy taught me. He would say If you can get a job take it no matter what it is take it! as a young and stupid teen i always said if I din’t like the job i would not take it, you know was a old man of 51 I can see how smart he really was.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

